Oscars 2016

New York, USA Collage

shrtfilm.com is mainly about shortfilms but we’re also fan of all films and all Oscars. Constant Hoogenbosch (shrtfilm.com, moviemachine.nl) made the compilation below and provides us with a great overview.

We start with the shortfilm categories, obviously. What’s your favorite?

Best Short Film, Animated

Winner: Historia de un oso – Gabriel Osorio Vargas, Pato Escala Pierart

  • Mi ne mozhem zhit bez kosmosa – Konstantin Bronzit
  • Prologue – Richard Williams, Imogen Sutton
  • Sanjay’s Super Team – Sanjay Patel, Nicole Paradis Grindle
  • World of Tomorrow – Don Hertzfeldt

Best Short Film, Live Action

Winner: Stutterer – Benjamin Cleary, Serena Armitage

  • Ave Maria – Basil Khalil, Eric Dupont
  • Day One – Henry Hughes
  • Alles wird gut – Patrick Vollrath
  • Shok – Jamie Donoughue


Best Motion Picture of the Year

Winner: Spotlight

  • The Revenant
  • Room
  • Brooklyn
  • Bridge of Spies
  • The Martian
  • Mad Max: Fury Road
  • The Big Short


Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role

Winner: Leonardo DiCaprio for The Revenant

  • Bryan Cranston for Trumbo
  • Michael Fassbender for Steve Jobs
  • Eddie Redmayne for The Danish Girl
  • Matt Damon for The Martian

Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role

Winner: Brie Larson for Room

  • Cate Blanchett for Carol
  • Saoirse Ronan for Brooklyn
  • Jennifer Lawrence for Joy
  • Charlotte Rampling for 45 Years

Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role

Winner: Mark Rylance for Bridge of Spies

  • Sylvester Stallone for Creed
  • Tom Hardy for The Revenant
  • Mark Ruffalo for Spotlight
  • Christian Bale for The Big Short

Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role

Winner: Alicia Vikander for The Danish Girl

  • Jennifer Jason Leigh for The Hateful Eight
  • Kate Winslet for Steve Jobs
  • Rachel McAdams for Spotlight
  • Rooney Mara for Carol

Best Achievement in Directing

Winner: Alejandro González Iñárritu for The Revenant

  • Tom McCarthy for Spotlight
  • George Miller for Mad Max: Fury Road
  • Lenny Abrahamson for Room
  • Adam McKay for The Big Short

Best Writing, Screenplay Written Directly for the Screen

Winner: Spotlight – Josh Singer, Tom McCarthy

  • Bridge of Spies – Matt Charman, Ethan Coen, Joel Coen
  • Ex Machina – Alex Garland
  • Inside Out – Pete Docter, Meg LeFauve, Josh Cooley, Ronnie Del Carmen
  • Straight Outta Compton – Andrea Berloff, Jonathan Herman, S. Leigh Savidge, Alan Wenkus

Best Writing, Screenplay Based on Material Previously Produced or Published

Winner: The Big Short – Charles Randolph, Adam McKay

  • Brooklyn – Nick Hornby
  • The Martian – Drew Goddard
  • Room – Emma Donoghue
  • Carol – Phyllis Nagy

Best Animated Feature Film of the Year

Winner: Inside Out

  • Anomalisa
  • Shaun the Sheep Movie
  • Omoide no Mânî
  • O Menino e o Mundo

Best Foreign Language Film of the Year

Winner: Saul fia – Son of Saul – Golden Globe

  • El abrazo de la serpiente
  • Krigen
  • Mustang
  • Theeb

Best Achievement in Cinematography

Winner: The Revenant – Emmanuel Lubezki

  • Carol – Edward Lachman
  • The Hateful Eight – Robert Richardson
  • Mad Max: Fury Road – John Seale
  • Sicario – Roger Deakins

Best Achievement in Editing

Winner: Mad Max: Fury Road – Margaret Sixel

  • The Big Short – Hank Corwin
  • Spotlight – Tom McArdle
  • The Revenant – Stephen Mirrione
  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens – Maryann Brandon, Mary Jo Markey

Best Achievement in Production Design

Winner: Mad Max: Fury Road – Colin Gibson, Lisa Thompson

  • Bridge of Spies – Adam Stockhausen, Rena DeAngelo, Bernhard Henrich
  • The Martian – Arthur Max, Celia Bobak
  • The Revenant – Jack Fisk, Hamish Purdy
  • The Danish Girl – Eve Stewart, Michael Standish

Best Achievement in Costume Design

Winner: Mad Max: Fury Road – Jenny Beavan

  • Carol – Sandy Powell
  • Cinderella – Sandy Powell
  • The Danish Girl – Paco Delgado
  • The Revenant – Jacqueline West

Best Achievement in Makeup and Hairstyling

Winner: Mad Max: Fury Road

  • The Revenant
  • Hundraåringen som klev ut genom fönstret och försvann

Best Achievement in Music Written for Motion Pictures, Original Score

Winner: The Hateful Eight – Ennio Morricone

  • Carol – Carter Burwell
  • Sicario – Jóhann Jóhannsson
  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens – John Williams
  • Bridge of Spies – Thomas Newman

Best Achievement in Music Written for Motion Pictures, Original Song

Winner: Spectre – “Writing’s On The Wall” – Sam Smith, James Napier – golden globe

  • Youth – “Simple Song #3” – David Lang
  • Fifty Shades of Grey – “Earned It” – The Weeknd, Belly, TBD, Stephan Moccio
  • The Hunting Ground – “Til It Happens to You” – Diane Warren, Lady Gaga
  • Racing Extinction – “Manta Ray” – J. Ralph, Antony Hegarty

Best Achievement in Sound Mixing

Winner: Mad Max: Fury Road – Chris Jenkins, Gregg Rudloff, Ben Osmo

  • The Martian – Paul Massey, Mark Taylor, Mac Ruth
  • The Revenant – Jon Taylor, Frank A. Montaño, Randy Thom, Chris Duesterdiek
  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens – Andy Nelson, Christopher Scarabosio, Stuart Wilson
  • Bridge of Spies – Andy Nelson, Gary Rydstrom, Drew Kunin

Best Achievement in Sound Editing

Winner: Mad Max: Fury Road – Mark A. Mangini, David White

  • The Martian – Oliver Tarney
  • The Revenant – Martín Hernández, Lon Bender
  • Sicario – Alan Robert Murray
  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens – Matthew Wood, David Acord

Best Achievement in Visual Effects

Winner: Ex Machina – Andrew Whitehurst, Paul Norris, Mark Williams Ardington, Sara Bennett

  • Mad Max: Fury Road – Andrew Jackson, Tom Wood, Dan Oliver, Andy Williams
  • The Martian – Richard Stammers, Anders Langlands, Chris Lawrence, Steven Warner
  • The Revenant – Richard McBride, Matt Shumway, Jason Smith, Cameron Waldbauer
  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens – Roger Guyett, Pat Tubach, Neal Scanlan, Chris Corbould

Best Documentary, Feature

Winner: Amy – Asif Kapadia, James Gay-Rees

  • Cartel Land – Matthew Heineman, Tom Yellin
  • The Look of Silence – Joshua Oppenheimer, Signe Byrge Sørensen
  • What Happened, Miss Simone? – Liz Garbus, Amy Hobby, Justin Wilkes
  • Winter on Fire – Evgeny Afineevsky, Den Tolmor

Best Documentary, Short Subject

Winner: A Girl in the River: The Price of Forgiveness – Sharmeen Obaid-Chinoy

  • Body Team 12 – David Darg, Bryn Mooser
  • War Within the Walls – Courtney Marsh, Jerry Franck
  • Claude Lanzmann: Spectres of the Shoah – Adam Benzine
  • Last Day of Freedom – Dee Hibbert-Jones, Nomi Talisman



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here